The submission deadline for all entries is 5pm Friday 13 January 2017

To download the info sheet with the list of categories and questions please click here

We welcome entries in the following categories:

To enter please click on your chosen category and this will open a new page with the submission questions.

Awards open to both AHPs and Healthcare Scientists…

Category 1 The Welsh Government’s award for Prudently advancing practice Wales

Sponsored by  The Welsh Government

Advanced practice roles are increasingly seen as key to the development and delivery of healthcare services. The Welsh policy of prudent healthcare states as one of its principles that any person providing care should be aiming to operate at the top of their clinical competence.

The award is open to AHPs and healthcare scientists who are able to evidence the innovative contribution and impact they have made in an advanced practice role on patient care.


Category 2 NHS Employers award for outstanding achievement by an apprentice, support worker or technician working alongside an AHP or healthcare scientist

NHS Employers RGB 100dpi

Sponsored by NHS Employers

This award is open to apprentices, support workers, assistant practitioners, technicians, apprentices or others of a similar title working within an AHP or healthcare science team or environment. It aims to recognise and encourage their increasing contribution to improving patient outcomes by celebrating an individual or team that provide, or who are helping to provide, high quality, creative care which enhances the quality of life for the patient.

Nominations are welcomed from the individual, their team or by a patient, service user or carer.



Category 3 HSL’s Rising Star award

Sponsored by Health Sevices Laboratories

For this category we are inviting you to nominate a colleague or member of staff who has shown a level of initiative, skill and commitment that is truly exceptional. You may nominate anyone who has been working as a qualified allied health professional or healthcare scientist for less than five years, and who you and others recognise as a star in the making.


Category 4  The HEE/NIHR award for Research Champions   Health-Education-EnglandCOL

Sponsored bICA headery Health Education England and the National Institute for Health Research 

This new award is open to Allied Health Professionals (AHPs) and healthcare scientists who are currently HEE/NIHR trainees or who have recently completed the HEE/NIHR Integrated Clinical Academic (ICA) programme or its predecessors. We are looking for people that can demonstrate how they are research champions – not only undertaking their own research projects but inspiring others to become involved and to increase research capacity. Examples might include new ways of disseminating results locally or to a wider audience, fresh approaches to getting AHPs and healthcare scientists involved in research and the effective engagement of patients and service users.


Category 5  The CDL award for entrepreneurshipCD-Learning-RGB-(H=150mm)

Sponsored by Chamberlain Dunn Learning 

This award aims to find and showcase healthcare scientists and AHPs working in any setting  who have devised unusual or creative ways to improve people’s experience of healthcare by, for example, forging unconventional partnerships, making use of new technologies or developing advanced skills.


Awards open to Healthcare Scientists only…


The Chief Scientific Officer’s award for Leadership is now part of the 2017 Healthcare Science Awards, also supported by Chamberlain Dunn, which will be held as part of the 2017 Chief Scientific Officer’s conference on 6 March 2017. For further information contact


Category 6 The Academy for Healthcare Science award for innovationAHCS_logo

Sponsored by the Academy for Healthcare Science

This award is to an organisation, service, educational institution, professional body, or an individual that develops and encourages an environment that promotes innovation by healthcare scientists or through the healthcare science workforce.  We are looking for systems and policies that foster creativity and which maximise the contribution of all individuals. We would like to see evidence that demonstrate the ways in which innovation is encouraged and sustained and examples of the real or potential benefits to patient care.


Category 7  The Scottish Government’s award for Driving SG logo(1)
improvement, delivering results

Sponsored by The Scottish Government

This award is for all healthcare scientists in Scotland who have demonstrated their expertise to drive improvement and maximise the contribution of healthcare science. The ambition is to deliver sustainable and coherent teams and services that promote the overall NHS Scotland’s ambitions of improving quality, safety and patient experiences of care. This delivery leads to increasing the health of the population, ensuring equity and best value of resources.

Awards open to AHPs only…


Category 8 FPH and PHE Award for contributions to public healthPHE_LogoFPH logo 2747
Sponsored by the Faculty of Public Health (FPH) and Public Health England

FPH and Public Health Enlgand seek to recognise allied health professionals who have demonstrated leadership and partnership working to deliver effective health improvement interventions at scale or with the potential to be used at scale.


Category 9 The Northern Ireland award for Maximising resources for successNEW Logo

Sponsored by Department of Health in Northern Ireland

This award recognises the crucial role of AHP leadership in driving forward service redesign to ensure safe, sustainable, and effective quality services provided in the right place at the right time by the right people.

The shape of future services proposed for health and social care should place the individual at the centre of any model by promoting better outcome for service users, carers and their family. Outcomes and quality evidence should shape services to deliver optimum outcomes for service users. New models must be focused on prevention initiatives and earlier interventions, and on promoting health and well-being.



Category 10 The Guardian Award for innovation in mental health services  

Sponsored by The GuardiannewGuardianJobs–LOGO CMYK

This award aims to find and showcase AHPs throughout the UK, working in the NHS, local government, the independent or third sectors, who have devised unusual or creative ways of working with people who have mental health problems. We are particularly keen to recognise the work of music, art and dramatherapists.



Category 11 The Macmillan award for Leadership and innovation in cancer rehabilitation

Sponsored by Macmillan Cancer Support macmillan_logo

Cancer rehabilitation is essential at all stages of a patient’s journey from diagnosis through to end of life care. Rehabilitation is aimed at maximising and optimising the patients physical, psychological and economic functioning while ensuring their dignity. Rehabilitation in this patient group has many benefits including improving quality of life, enabling and supporting people to self-manage, enabling the symptoms and the consequences of treatment to be supported and managed while considering the patients and their relatives and families social situation.



Category 12 The Scottish Government’s award for improving quality: measuring and demonstrating impactSG logo(1)

Sponsored by The Scottish Government

This award seeks to recognise AHPs who have transformed a service or services and in doing so can demonstrate an improved patient and staff experience. You need therefore to have had time to evaluate the innovation fully and to have modified the service appropriately. You should also be able to demonstrate that the transformed service is delivered in a way that improves the quality of patient care and must prove what you have achieved is sustainable.